Crooks Wins; Recount In Prec. 2

Voters traveled to the polls Tuesday looking for change and they’ll receive it with three new members on the five member Commissioners Court in Orange County.

In the race for Orange County Judge, Dean Crooks, a retired Beaumont Police Officer, defeated incumbent Brint Carlton with 57% of the vote.  Crooks will face Democrat Donald Brown in November.  In the race for Commissioner Pct. 4, Vidor Mayor Robert Viator defeated incumbent Jody Crump with 70% of the vote to become the new commissioner in January 2019.  

Former Orange City Councilwoman Theresa Beauchamp challenged incumbent Barry Burton for Comm. Prec. 2.  After early voting Burton lead by three votes.  But at the end of the day, Beauchamp won by four votes in one of the closest races in recent memory.  Burton said in an interview Tuesday night on KOGT that Republican Party Chair David Covey told him that because of the close race there will be a recount.  The winner will face Deborah Mitchell in November.

The only other local contested race was Christy Khoury winning re-election for County Treasurer with an overwhelming (77%) win over David Smith.  

In the one local contested race in the Democratic Party, Louis Ackerman defeated Marcus Wilkerson for the OC Democratic Party Chairman.

How Orange County Voted: 


Facebook Comments