Filing Begins Wednesday For May Election


Filing for city councils, school boards and special district boards will begin on Wednesday and run through Friday, February 16 at 5 p.m.

In Orange County, a number of positions will be open. Candidates will file in the office of the city secretary for city councils, in the office of the superintendent for school boards, or the executive secretary for special boards. Filing is conducted during regular business hours.

Election Day is May 5.

Here is a list of the seats that will be on the ballot and the current incumbents.

Orange City Council

Mayor Jimmy Sims

Single-Member District 1 Pat Pullen (candidates must live within the boundaries of the district on the western side of the city)

Bridge City City Council

Mayor David Rutledge

Place 2 Kirk Roccaforte

Place 4 Eric Andrus

Place 6 Lucy Fields

Pinehurst City Council

Mayor Pete Runnels

Two at-large positions held by John Zerko and Cynthia Adams

West Orange City Council

Three at-large positions held by Shirley Bonnin, Dale Dardeau and Mike Shugart

Vidor City Council

Ward 2 Angela Jordan

Ward 3 Misty Songe

Ward 5 Gary Herrera

A special election will be called for Ward 6 to replace David Slaughter, who moved from the city

West Orange-Cove CISD Board

Two at-large positions held by Roderick Roberts and John Gray Jr.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD Board

Position 4 Tammy Rountree

Postion 5 Aubrey Milstead

Bridge City ISD Board

Place 1 Marla Zoch

Place 2 Judy Cole

Orange County Port Commission

Precinct 1 Keith Wallace

Precinct 4 John Young

At-Large Jerry Hughes

Orange County Drainage District Board

Precinct 1 Kenneth Pigg

Precinct 3 Randy Fuselier

At-Large Brent Peveto


-Margaret Toal, KOGT-

Facebook Comments